Italy (ItalianItalia[iˈtaːlja] (listen)), officially the Italian Republic (Italian: Repubblica Italiana[reˈpubːlika itaˈljaːna]),[13[14] is a country consisting of a peninsula delimited by the Alps and several islands surrounding it.[15] Italy is located in south-central Europe,[16][17] and is also considered part of Western Europe.[18][19] A unitaryparliamentary republic with Rome as its capital and largest city, the country covers a total area of 301,340 km2 (116,350 sq mi) and shares land borders with FranceSwitzerlandAustriaSlovenia, and the enclaved microstates of Vatican City and San Marino. Italy has a territorial enclave in Switzerland (Campione) and a maritime exclave in Tunisian waters (Lampedusa). With around 60 million inhabitants, Italy is the third-most populous member state of the European Union.